# $EPIC: reconnect_command.txt,v 1.3 2007/02/13 06:05:45 jnelson Exp $
The reconnect command does a disconnect of the current server immediately followed by a server +refnum. The effect of this is your connection to the server is abandoned and then immediately restarted.
Often you may want to reconnect if you have changed your set realname, because this value is set when you first connect to the server and cannot be changed later.
One consequence of this is a new dns lookup is done on your server's hostname, so any ip address change will be handled properly. This behavior is not guaranteed forever.
If you provide a “reason” it will be used as your QUIT message.
Please remember that the client does not remember your channels when the connection to the server is lost, so your channels, and their affiliation to the windows they were in, will be lost. You can use the reconnect script that comes with the client to help fill this gap.
The reconnect command first appeared in “plus-3” (post-ircII, pre-EPIC)